RSS

Blog Gremlins

30 Nov

Blog Gremlins

Months and months of work
an index linked with care
hundreds of blog posts
I’d find each one from there.

One day its permalink
I clicked to make a change
before my startled eye
not only rearranged

but totally replaced
and in its place the page
I had been working on!
I was in shock, enraged

I back-clicked, pressed “Undo”
closed, exited and feared
re-opened, fears confirmed
my index disappeared.

Who ate my bits and bytes
exchanging them for prose?
Wait till I meet those nerds
I’ll punch them in the nose!

© 2013 by Violet Nesdoly (All rights reserved)

****************
This poem is written for the November 30th prompt: “Write a disappearing poem. Simple as that….”

The event described above really happened to me. I write a daily devotional blog and had made index pages on my Blogger blog (Old and New Testament) linking each post under its  Bible book in chapter order. One day when I went to update that page with the URL of the piece I had just written (in my usual way) my index was gone, entirely replaced with the post I had just been working on! How that happened I have no idea.

Fortunately I had saved that Blogger index page some months earlier as a Word.doc and was keeping it updated (sort of). I have since taken the index pages off the site, so the gremlins no longer have access to them (I don’t think…).  And of course the ‘punch in the nose’ bit is all in fun and in the service of rhyme. I know, it’s hardly in keeping with the “turn the other cheek” attitude the Bible tells us to have.

AND WITH THIS POEM I COMPLETE THE NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE.

I DID IT!!! I wrote 30 new poems this month.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2013 in Light

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Blog Gremlins

  1. Marzipan and Marmite

    November 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Definitely been there with the undo/back button terror!

    Like

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 30, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Terrifying! My blog was doing some odd things last week & I was so alarmed, but the glitch finally went away. Sorry about the index-backing up is important! Love how you translated it into a poem, and congratulations on your 30 poems-terrific!

    Like

     

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.