RSS

Challenges & a few PINK poems

13 Feb

I love challenges. I find myself eagerly jumping in to writing and art challenges of all kinds. Keeping up with them is another thing though!

This year my one-little-word is FOCUS, I’m trying to put it into practice by actually imposing some focus on my life. One area of focus is to eliminate some of the extras I get myself into that then end up becoming a burden when life gets busy. Snapping a photo a day and then using that photo as a poem prompt was one thing that I thought perhaps could go. So at the end of January I neglected to download the next month’s list of photo challenges I’ve been using.

I didn’t intentionally not download it—it just slipped my mind. As I started on my walk Thursday, February 1st, I reached automatically for the notebook with the photo list that I keep in my camera bag to see what the prompt was for the day, then realized, there was no point. I hadn’t copied it. In fact, I recalled, I was considering not following it any more at all.

Those thoughts brought on the most surprising feelings. I felt sad, bereft, abandoned, even disoriented. Now what would I look for on my walk? I would miss the mental stimulation of connecting an image with the prompt and thinking of what to say about it.

Then I remembered that I had missed a walk several days earlier and hadn’t snapped something for that prompt. I would do that. I immediately felt better.

The first thing I did when I got home was—you guessed it—downloaded the February photo challenge list. Even FOCUS will not rid me of this little lifestyle habit.

For a while I was sharing these photos and poems every day on Facebook, but it felt a bit much. So I have decided to, from time to time, post some of them here on the poetry blog. No promises, though, so there won’t be any to break!

I’m following the photo challenges from Capture Your 365 (#CY365). The February list is HERE.

Here, are a few photos & poems from last week’s prompts, which was a color week featuring PINK:

February 4 – PINK

02-04-18 Pink

Soft intersection
of red and white
Heather confection
Spring delight.

February 8 – SOFT PINK

02-08-18 Soft Pink

Morning sky
sheets tousled, covers half off
still flushed from sleep.

February 10 – SHADES OF …

02-10-18 Shades of Pink-4

The pinks of winter are a little blue
from shivering in north and east wind’s strew.

The pinks of winter are a little green
with dreams of leaves to fill the in-between.

02-10-18 Shades of Pink-5

The pinks of winter are approaching reds
As spring soft-whispers: “Wake, you sleepy-heads.”

All poems & photos © 2018 by Violet Nesdoly (All rights reserved)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2018 in #CY365 Photo-Poem Series, Nature

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Challenges & a few PINK poems

  1. Karen Eastlund

    February 13, 2018 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks, Violet. I enjoyed this. I need to work toward focus too. Like you, I have to find what I most enjoy, and stick with that.

    Like

     
  2. Violet Nesdoly

    February 15, 2018 at 7:29 am

    Thank you, Karen! All the best in your efforts to focus. (I think it might be a lifelong balancing act!)

    Like

     

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.