RSS

Deck the streets

28 Nov
Workmen putting up Christmas lights

Our city workers decorating the streets for Christmas. (© 2014 by V. Nesdoly)

Deck the streets

Deck the streets
with boughs of holly
Christmas trees
and Santas jolly

stars and wise men
in the night
guided to
the King of light.

© 2014 by Violet Nesdoly (All rights reserved.

 

*************

We caught sight of these city workers putting up Christmas lights on our walk this morning… and the above little ditty floated into my head.

Hope your town will be as pretty as our will soon be. Below is a collage of some of my town’s decorations from past years.

Past Christmases in our town. (© 2014 by V. Nesdoly)

Past Christmases in our town. (© 2014 by V. Nesdoly)

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in Christmas, Light, Religious

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Deck the streets

  1. margaretsmn

    November 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    I can’t believe the whirlwind of Christmas is beginning. I hope to keep my focus on the ‘King of light.”

    Like

     
    • Violet Nesdoly

      November 28, 2014 at 7:57 pm

      “whirlwind of Christmas” – well put, Margaret! I too am trying to maintain a quiet centre through all the shopping, planning and preparation. It’s such a beautiful season, but I know how easily I can spoil it with my own stress.

      Like

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.