RSS

In stitches

12 Jan


I am in the choice of pattern
and in my fantasy
of how the suit sketched in tweed
will be incarnated in velvet

I am in tissue pieces
laid precisely, pinned snugly
facing the right way
on the wrong side.

I am in the concentration of my tongue
and in the rhythm of my heart
as scissor blades
crunch, crunch, crunch.

I am in the synapses that pass
from instruction sheet to brain
to fingers, in spaces
filled with the conductive medium of faith.

I am on the rolling highway of stitches, even and perfect
seams, smooth and straight
then in the pin-prick that sees
something is wrong; I must rip and return.

I am in the mirror
reflecting shoulders that bag
a waist too tight
and a skirt that sags.

Then at last, after being in gathers, easements
overcast hems and under the hot iron
I am, snug and snazzy
in this garment I have made.

© 2006 by Violet Nesdoly

I wrote this poem in response to a prompt at Poets Online (Archive: February 2006 – “In The Moment” prompt). The webmaster of Poets Online publishes some of the submitted poems for each prompt, and it made its publishing debut there.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2010 in Personal

 

3 responses to “In stitches

  1. darlenemb

    January 12, 2010 at 6:24 am

    This is a fun poem to share with all my “seamstress” friends!

    Like

     
  2. Ellen Grace Olinger

    January 12, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I love this poem!

    Like

     
  3. violet

    January 12, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Thank you Darlene and Ellen! So nice to get comments!! Bless you both.

    Like

     

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.