RSS

Two weeks after surgery (Limp – 3)

07 Oct
p1010399

Introducing my best friends during rehabilitation: cane, picker, long-handled sponge, shoehorn, sock dresser, and two-wheeled walker (and I thought only little old ladies used these–oh wait…)

Two weeks after surgery

(March 17, 2014)

Why does it hurt so far from the incision?
My muscles are a straitjacket of pain
to natural walking unseen, inner prison.
Will I ever walk easily again?

Deep in my hip a tremolo of weakness
that frightens me when stepping with a cane.
At physio a modicum of redress.
Back walker-creeping I feel old and lame.

Violet Nesdoly © 2014 (All rights reserved)

*********
This poem is the third in the series of poems I wrote about a mishap I had this spring. Click on the “LIMP sequence” category below to view all.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2014 in LIMP sequence, Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Two weeks after surgery (Limp – 3)

  1. mattforrest

    October 7, 2014 at 11:04 am

    At least it sounds like you’re doing better now, than you were! Hang in there…I’m still doing PT on my knee, too!

    Like

     
    • Violet Nesdoly

      October 7, 2014 at 11:32 am

      Thanks Matt, You realize, of course, that this was written many months ago. I am much, much better now and walking quite merrily an hour a day. But those first weeks after the injury were a different story!

      Like

       
      • mattforrest

        October 7, 2014 at 11:35 am

        Oh, I totally understand…it takes quite awhile to get back to normal. I was on crutches and in pain for the first 2 weeks, and now I’m jogging!

        Like

         
  2. Laurel

    October 7, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    so glad to know you have come through this and well into your walking routine once more:)

    Like

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 7, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Violet, I am glad you’re better, & even able to craft a poem about it. I didn’t know you were writing poems about your accident. It’s the questions, always the questions, isn’t it? We are impatient. Love the tongue-in-cheek opener-“Oh wait.”

    Like

     
  4. Laura Shovan

    October 16, 2014 at 7:54 am

    Violet — wishing you a continued recovery. I agree with others — you’re making something positive out of your pain with these poems.

    Like

     
    • Violet Nesdoly

      October 16, 2014 at 9:10 am

      Thanks, Laura! It’s interesting to look back and see how much I’ve improved. Our bodies are amazing creations of self-healing.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
