RSS

Just Before Cock-crow

05 Apr

"The Denial of St. Peter" Jean-Louis Forain

Just Before Cock-Crow

You are his friend from Galilee
I do not, do not know the man
I’m not his friend and not his clan
he really is stranger to me.

You’re dreaming up a fantasy
you little wench with evil plan.
You were with him from Galilee.
On oath, I do not know the man!

Cease and desist your lying spree.
Why do you paint me partisan?
I told you true when we began
swear by each herring in the sea…
You sound like him from Galilee!

© 2012 by Violet Nesdoly
************************

This rondel paints a few moments from the story of Passion Week. The account of Peter denying that he even knew Christ, let alone had spent time with Him (Mark 14:66-72) is a cautionary tale to me. I wonder, how would I have reacted in the same circumstance? Do I ever deny Jesus in situations that are far less threatening?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in Form poems, Religious, Rondel

 

3 responses to “Just Before Cock-crow

  1. Janet

    April 5, 2012 at 9:55 am

    POWERFUL! Both poem and picture…I feel sad as I realize how often I reflect Peter here.

    Like

     
    • vnesdoly

      April 5, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      Thank you so much, Janet! I find it hard to write about Good Friday and Easter… Everything’s been said, and so well. But there are always little moments to explore, aren’t there?

      Like

       
      • Janet

        April 7, 2012 at 3:18 pm

        Yes Violet, there really are…in surprising ‘fresh’ ways as was this!

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
